Skip to content
Nottinghamshire Counts — Nottinghamshire, in numbers.Local help →

Nottinghamshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Nottinghamshire County Council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Nottinghamshire County Council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 735,066 in 1991 to 862,326 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Nottinghamshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 743,514 people in 1996; 862,326 people in 2025. 16% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Nottinghamshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991735,066
1992738,471
1993741,632
1994743,883
1995743,575
1996743,514
1997741,099
1998741,246
1999745,065
2000745,418
2001748,809
2002752,581
2003756,426
2004760,966
2005764,515
2006767,827
2007771,330
2008776,071
2009780,105
2010783,645
2011786,796
2012789,611
2013795,119
2014799,367
2015802,650
2016807,422
2017812,333
2018816,749
2019819,900
2020822,118
2021826,132
2022835,059
2023846,144
2024855,350
2025862,326
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Nottinghamshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 148,772 people in 1996; 150,203 people in 2025. 1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Nottinghamshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991145,667
1992147,156
1993148,264
1994149,402
1995149,369
1996148,772
1997147,852
1998147,338
1999148,464
2000147,883
2001147,361
2002146,690
2003145,766
2004144,894
2005144,044
2006142,724
2007142,180
2008141,964
2009142,072
2010141,795
2011142,187
2012142,504
2013142,476
2014142,689
2015142,573
2016143,279
2017144,861
2018145,518
2019145,808
2020145,587
2021145,770
2022147,537
2023149,679
2024150,623
2025150,203
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Nottinghamshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 475,953 people in 1996; 523,271 people in 2025. 9.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Nottinghamshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991475,967
1992476,481
1993477,184
1994477,613
1995476,250
1996475,953
1997473,617
1998473,541
1999475,622
2000475,468
2001478,121
2002481,352
2003484,953
2004488,733
2005491,865
2006495,437
2007497,873
2008499,940
2009500,644
2010501,286
2011500,881
2012497,692
2013498,552
2014498,304
2015498,820
2016499,825
2017500,443
2018501,435
2019501,290
2020502,340
2021504,132
2022508,447
2023514,730
2024519,626
2025523,271
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Nottinghamshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 118,789 people in 1996; 188,852 people in 2025. 59% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Nottinghamshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991113,432
1992114,834
1993116,184
1994116,868
1995117,956
1996118,789
1997119,630
1998120,367
1999120,979
2000122,067
2001123,327
2002124,539
2003125,707
2004127,339
2005128,606
2006129,666
2007131,277
2008134,167
2009137,389
2010140,564
2011143,728
2012149,415
2013154,091
2014158,374
2015161,257
2016164,318
2017167,029
2018169,796
2019172,802
2020174,191
2021176,230
2022179,075
2023181,735
2024185,101
2025188,852
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 824,820 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Nottinghamshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh24,5233%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African9,9321.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups17,1032.1%
White767,22493%
Other ethnic group6,0380.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 785,802 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Nottinghamshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White750,80395.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups10,7161.4%
Asian/Asian British17,1392.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5,1020.6%
Other ethnic group2,0420.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 748,510 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Nottinghamshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White729,07697.4%
Mixed5,3070.7%
Asian/Asian British7,7691%
Black/Black British3,2250.4%
Chinese/Other3,1330.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 9.2% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Nottinghamshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,673.47 per person in 1997; £23,566.74 per person in 2024. 143.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Nottinghamshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,673.47
19989,984.54
199910,432.65
200010,789.92
200111,362.04
200211,642.6
200312,132.05
200412,744.33
200513,000.4
200613,354.57
200714,293.49
200814,628.82
200914,887.74
201014,782.2
201114,819.6
201215,343
201315,806.44
201416,410.48
201517,193.05
201617,191.75
201717,558.07
201818,061.85
201918,758.39
202018,901.18
202119,576.77
202220,600.3
202322,103.91
202423,566.74
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Nottinghamshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -8.83% in 1997; -9.24% in 2024. 0.41 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Nottinghamshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-8.83
1998-7.78
1999-7.77
2000-9.35
2001-8.16
2002-7.98
2003-6.93
2004-6.1
2005-7.52
2006-8.81
2007-6.85
2008-7.11
2009-7.02
2010-8.47
2011-9.05
2012-9.16
2013-9.75
2014-9.25
2015-9.62
2016-10.72
2017-10.88
2018-11.5
2019-10.98
2020-9.95
2021-10.38
2022-10.29
2023-9.6
2024-9.24
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57%

21 March 2021 · Nottinghamshire County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.9%

21 March 2021 · Nottinghamshire County Council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.4%

21 March 2021 · Nottinghamshire County Council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.8%

21 March 2021 · Nottinghamshire County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£230,000

July 2026 · Nottinghamshire County Council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.