Skip to content
Nottinghamshire Counts — Nottinghamshire, in numbers.Local help →

Broxtowe, in numbers

People and living standards: Broxtowe

Broxtowe local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Broxtowe local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 108,207 in 1991 to 113,963 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Broxtowe council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 110,168 people in 1996; 113,963 people in 2025. 3.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Broxtowe council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991108,207
1992108,812
1993109,723
1994111,126
1995110,885
1996110,168
1997108,902
1998108,174
1999108,276
2000107,728
2001107,481
2002107,832
2003107,822
2004108,085
2005108,290
2006108,254
2007108,272
2008108,730
2009109,217
2010109,252
2011109,749
2012110,300
2013110,470
2014110,527
2015110,398
2016110,346
2017110,573
2018110,937
2019111,257
2020111,397
2021110,796
2022112,314
2023113,488
2024114,124
2025113,963
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Broxtowe council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,128 people in 1996; 18,441 people in 2025. 12.7% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Broxtowe council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,568
199220,743
199320,975
199421,292
199521,356
199621,128
199720,878
199820,783
199920,782
200020,549
200120,164
200219,886
200319,405
200419,117
200518,811
200618,420
200718,232
200818,284
200918,361
201018,363
201118,584
201218,763
201318,678
201418,714
201518,653
201618,599
201718,669
201818,643
201918,670
202018,516
202118,415
202218,603
202318,819
202418,773
202518,441
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Broxtowe council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 71,758 people in 1996; 70,417 people in 2025. 1.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Broxtowe council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199171,185
199271,416
199371,908
199472,805
199572,365
199671,758
199770,641
199869,917
199970,093
200069,656
200169,678
200270,042
200370,383
200470,695
200571,011
200671,250
200771,296
200871,343
200971,330
201070,996
201170,933
201270,385
201369,963
201469,457
201569,026
201668,591
201768,487
201868,535
201968,524
202068,680
202168,056
202269,198
202370,015
202470,492
202570,417
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Broxtowe council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,282 people in 1996; 25,105 people in 2025. 45.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Broxtowe council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,454
199216,653
199316,840
199417,029
199517,164
199617,282
199717,383
199817,474
199917,401
200017,523
200117,639
200217,904
200318,034
200418,273
200518,468
200618,584
200718,744
200819,103
200919,526
201019,893
201120,232
201221,152
201321,829
201422,356
201522,719
201623,156
201723,417
201823,759
201924,063
202024,201
202124,325
202224,513
202324,654
202424,859
202525,105
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 110,940 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Broxtowe · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh6,1525.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,8671.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,8192.5%
White98,63688.9%
Other ethnic group1,4661.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 109,487 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Broxtowe · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White101,53892.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,8271.7%
Asian/Asian British4,5034.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British9330.9%
Other ethnic group6860.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 107,570 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Broxtowe · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White102,67895.5%
Mixed9450.9%
Asian/Asian British2,1422%
Black/Black British6150.6%
Chinese/Other1,1901.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 13% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Broxtowe council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,315 per person in 1997; £22,598 per person in 2024. 142.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Broxtowe council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,315
19989,639
199910,148
200010,220
200110,953
200211,200
200311,858
200412,351
200512,593
200613,081
200713,917
200814,326
200914,669
201014,490
201114,640
201215,302
201315,824
201416,416
201516,908
201617,029
201717,259
201817,511
201918,064
202018,478
202119,217
202219,834
202321,195
202422,598
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Broxtowe council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -12.2% in 1997; -13% in 2024. 0.8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Broxtowe council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-12.2
1998-11
1999-10.3
2000-14.1
2001-11.5
2002-11.5
2003-9
2004-9
2005-10.4
2006-10.7
2007-9.3
2008-9
2009-8.4
2010-10.3
2011-10.2
2012-9.4
2013-9.7
2014-9.2
2015-11.1
2016-11.6
2017-12.4
2018-14.2
2019-14.3
2020-12
2021-12
2022-13.6
2023-13.3
2024-13
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

56.1%

21 March 2021 · Broxtowe local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16.2%

21 March 2021 · Broxtowe local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.4%

21 March 2021 · Broxtowe local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.2%

21 March 2021 · Broxtowe local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£253,000

July 2026 · Broxtowe local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£942

August 2026 · Broxtowe local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.