Skip to content
Nottinghamshire Counts — Nottinghamshire, in numbers.Local help →

Bassetlaw, in numbers

People and living standards: Bassetlaw

Bassetlaw local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Bassetlaw local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 104,834 in 1991 to 126,454 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Bassetlaw council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 105,737 people in 1996; 126,454 people in 2025. 19.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Bassetlaw council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991104,834
1992104,927
1993104,977
1994104,901
1995106,009
1996105,737
1997105,190
1998105,235
1999106,387
2000106,847
2001107,843
2002108,451
2003109,276
2004110,017
2005110,488
2006110,876
2007111,314
2008112,106
2009112,563
2010112,924
2011113,003
2012113,248
2013113,577
2014114,026
2015114,393
2016114,879
2017115,757
2018116,212
2019116,485
2020117,068
2021118,327
2022120,055
2023122,561
2024124,742
2025126,454
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Bassetlaw council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,046 people in 1996; 21,964 people in 2025. 4.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Bassetlaw council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,693
199220,809
199320,889
199420,959
199521,221
199621,046
199721,025
199820,992
199921,494
200021,415
200121,483
200221,381
200321,283
200421,223
200521,125
200620,985
200720,762
200820,648
200920,609
201020,346
201120,152
201220,080
201319,933
201419,828
201519,718
201619,764
201720,137
201820,183
201920,250
202020,349
202120,474
202220,861
202321,343
202421,758
202521,964
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Bassetlaw council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 67,902 people in 1996; 75,892 people in 2025. 11.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Bassetlaw council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199168,127
199267,953
199367,779
199467,523
199568,109
199667,902
199767,284
199867,335
199967,808
200068,123
200168,824
200269,331
200369,996
200470,478
200570,728
200671,069
200771,458
200871,843
200971,836
201071,892
201171,726
201271,170
201370,926
201470,822
201570,819
201670,815
201770,926
201870,804
201970,574
202070,761
202171,562
202272,425
202373,860
202474,939
202575,892
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Bassetlaw council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,789 people in 1996; 28,598 people in 2025. 70.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Bassetlaw council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,014
199216,165
199316,309
199416,419
199516,679
199616,789
199716,881
199816,908
199917,085
200017,309
200117,536
200217,739
200317,997
200418,316
200518,635
200618,822
200719,094
200819,615
200920,118
201020,686
201121,125
201221,998
201322,718
201423,376
201523,856
201624,300
201724,694
201825,225
201925,661
202025,958
202126,291
202226,769
202327,358
202428,045
202528,598
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 117,803 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bassetlaw · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,4551.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7360.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,4051.2%
White113,62096.4%
Other ethnic group5870.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 112,863 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bassetlaw · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White109,89297.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9960.9%
Asian/Asian British1,2551.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5200.5%
Other ethnic group2000.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 107,713 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bassetlaw · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White106,14898.5%
Mixed5410.5%
Asian/Asian British5130.5%
Black/Black British3230.3%
Chinese/Other1880.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 13.3% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Bassetlaw council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,154 per person in 1997; £22,511 per person in 2024. 145.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Bassetlaw council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,154
19989,441
19999,846
200010,374
200110,770
200211,113
200311,465
200412,227
200512,506
200612,754
200713,742
200814,058
200914,307
201014,224
201114,267
201214,614
201315,092
201415,678
201516,753
201616,734
201717,135
201817,689
201918,393
202018,545
202119,002
202220,038
202321,206
202422,511
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Bassetlaw council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -13.7% in 1997; -13.3% in 2024. 0.4 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Bassetlaw council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-13.7
1998-12.8
1999-13
2000-12.8
2001-12.9
2002-12.2
2003-12
2004-9.9
2005-11
2006-12.9
2007-10.4
2008-10.7
2009-10.6
2010-11.9
2011-12.4
2012-13.5
2013-13.8
2014-13.3
2015-11.9
2016-13.1
2017-13
2018-13.3
2019-12.7
2020-11.6
2021-13
2022-12.7
2023-13.3
2024-13.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

56.4%

21 March 2021 · Bassetlaw local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

18.9%

21 March 2021 · Bassetlaw local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

21.6%

21 March 2021 · Bassetlaw local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.2%

21 March 2021 · Bassetlaw local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£214,000

July 2026 · Bassetlaw local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£727

August 2026 · Bassetlaw local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.