Skip to content
Nottinghamshire Counts — Nottinghamshire, in numbers.Local help →

Gedling, in numbers

People and living standards: Gedling

Gedling local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Gedling local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 110,479 in 1991 to 121,105 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Gedling council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 112,536 people in 1996; 121,105 people in 2025. 7.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Gedling council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991110,479
1992111,346
1993111,761
1994111,619
1995111,470
1996112,536
1997111,560
1998112,068
1999111,926
2000111,474
2001111,812
2002111,943
2003111,684
2004111,847
2005111,919
2006111,699
2007111,924
2008112,293
2009112,688
2010113,066
2011113,741
2012114,062
2013114,963
2014115,840
2015115,977
2016116,418
2017116,451
2018117,092
2019117,129
2020117,141
2021117,291
2022117,703
2023118,981
2024119,996
2025121,105
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Gedling council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,928 people in 1996; 21,044 people in 2025. 4% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Gedling council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,603
199221,987
199321,885
199421,935
199521,900
199621,928
199721,657
199821,688
199921,581
200021,336
200121,249
200221,070
200320,800
200420,664
200520,506
200620,200
200720,169
200820,202
200920,228
201020,150
201120,283
201220,384
201320,466
201420,551
201520,499
201620,612
201720,637
201820,754
201920,737
202020,685
202120,697
202220,734
202320,936
202420,979
202521,044
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Gedling council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 72,587 people in 1996; 73,440 people in 2025. 1.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Gedling council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199172,058
199272,220
199372,445
199472,100
199571,817
199672,587
199771,719
199872,018
199971,905
200071,418
200171,615
200271,730
200371,631
200471,753
200571,865
200671,858
200771,998
200871,952
200971,988
201072,072
201172,258
201271,709
201371,863
201472,026
201571,826
201671,750
201771,316
201871,434
201971,176
202071,172
202171,212
202271,315
202372,121
202472,836
202573,440
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Gedling council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,021 people in 1996; 26,621 people in 2025. 47.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Gedling council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,818
199217,139
199317,431
199417,584
199517,753
199618,021
199718,184
199818,362
199918,440
200018,720
200118,948
200219,143
200319,253
200419,430
200519,548
200619,641
200719,757
200820,139
200920,472
201020,844
201121,200
201221,969
201322,634
201423,263
201523,652
201624,056
201724,498
201824,904
201925,216
202025,284
202125,382
202225,654
202325,924
202426,181
202526,621
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 117,264 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gedling · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh4,5323.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2,6752.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,1303.5%
White104,91889.5%
Other ethnic group1,0090.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 113,543 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gedling · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White105,65693.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,6192.3%
Asian/Asian British3,3432.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,6531.5%
Other ethnic group2720.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 111,787 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Gedling · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White107,51696.2%
Mixed1,1321%
Asian/Asian British1,5691.4%
Black/Black British1,1221%
Chinese/Other4480.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 7.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Gedling council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,868 per person in 1997; £23,982 per person in 2024. 143% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Gedling council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,868
199810,096
199910,561
200010,720
200111,421
200211,682
200312,290
200412,840
200513,145
200613,716
200714,590
200815,031
200915,338
201015,204
201115,277
201215,938
201316,427
201416,993
201517,477
201617,428
201717,777
201818,013
201918,891
202018,963
202119,689
202220,661
202322,412
202423,982
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Gedling council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -7% in 1997; -7.6% in 2024. 0.6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Gedling council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-7
1998-6.8
1999-6.6
2000-9.9
2001-7.7
2002-7.7
2003-5.7
2004-5.4
2005-6.5
2006-6.3
2007-4.9
2008-4.6
2009-4.2
2010-5.9
2011-6.2
2012-5.6
2013-6.2
2014-6
2015-8.1
2016-9.5
2017-9.8
2018-11.7
2019-10.3
2020-9.7
2021-9.9
2022-10
2023-8.3
2024-7.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

58.2%

21 March 2021 · Gedling local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16.3%

21 March 2021 · Gedling local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.6%

21 March 2021 · Gedling local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.3%

21 March 2021 · Gedling local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£241,000

July 2026 · Gedling local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£904

August 2026 · Gedling local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.