Skip to content
Nottinghamshire Counts — Nottinghamshire, in numbers.Local help →

Rushcliffe, in numbers

People and living standards: Rushcliffe

Rushcliffe local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Rushcliffe local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 98,536 in 1991 to 127,857 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Rushcliffe council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 101,623 people in 1996; 127,857 people in 2025. 25.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Rushcliffe council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199198,536
199299,568
1993100,410
1994101,594
1995101,570
1996101,623
1997102,445
1998103,644
1999104,051
2000104,777
2001105,780
2002106,546
2003106,987
2004107,430
2005107,832
2006108,413
2007108,909
2008109,393
2009110,137
2010111,121
2011111,248
2012111,243
2013112,316
2014112,623
2015113,009
2016113,450
2017114,226
2018115,461
2019116,647
2020118,030
2021119,418
2022121,706
2023124,076
2024126,124
2025127,857
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Rushcliffe council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,734 people in 1996; 22,719 people in 2025. 15.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Rushcliffe council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,867
199219,161
199319,422
199419,848
199519,805
199619,734
199719,747
199819,876
199920,083
200020,315
200120,575
200220,567
200320,483
200420,387
200520,448
200620,282
200720,367
200820,329
200920,442
201020,512
201120,556
201220,469
201320,462
201420,440
201520,442
201620,553
201720,820
201821,091
201921,136
202021,270
202121,411
202222,084
202322,553
202422,697
202522,719
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Rushcliffe council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 65,538 people in 1996; 76,410 people in 2025. 16.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Rushcliffe council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199164,039
199264,590
199364,977
199465,662
199565,517
199665,538
199766,093
199866,934
199967,040
200067,438
200168,035
200268,591
200368,980
200469,299
200569,503
200669,987
200770,053
200870,127
200970,209
201070,575
201170,072
201269,135
201369,545
201469,291
201569,277
201669,179
201769,213
201869,778
201970,379
202071,334
202172,056
202273,061
202374,345
202475,506
202576,410
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Rushcliffe council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,351 people in 1996; 28,728 people in 2025. 75.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Rushcliffe council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,630
199215,817
199316,011
199416,084
199516,248
199616,351
199716,605
199816,834
199916,928
200017,024
200117,170
200217,388
200317,524
200417,744
200517,881
200618,144
200718,489
200818,937
200919,486
201020,034
201120,620
201221,639
201322,309
201422,892
201523,290
201623,718
201724,193
201824,592
201925,132
202025,426
202125,951
202226,561
202327,178
202427,921
202528,728
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 119,077 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rushcliffe · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh6,7755.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,0950.9%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,3032.8%
White106,82789.7%
Other ethnic group1,0770.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 111,129 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rushcliffe · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White103,50493.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,9491.8%
Asian/Asian British4,6144.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British6270.6%
Other ethnic group4350.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 105,599 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Rushcliffe · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White101,27295.9%
Mixed1,0801%
Asian/Asian British2,2472.1%
Black/Black British4760.5%
Chinese/Other5240.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 12.9% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Rushcliffe council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £13,479 per person in 1997; £29,305 per person in 2024. 117.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Rushcliffe council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199713,479
199813,687
199914,238
200014,497
200115,226
200215,319
200315,836
200416,483
200516,826
200617,335
200718,600
200818,981
200918,862
201018,761
201118,682
201219,543
201320,226
201420,928
201521,804
201621,761
201722,120
201822,711
201923,546
202023,356
202124,298
202225,771
202327,734
202429,305
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Rushcliffe council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 27% in 1997; 12.9% in 2024. 14.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Rushcliffe council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199727
199826.4
199925.9
200021.8
200123.1
200221.1
200321.5
200421.5
200519.7
200618.4
200721.2
200820.5
200917.8
201016.2
201114.7
201215.7
201315.5
201415.7
201514.6
201613
201712.3
201811.3
201911.7
202011.3
202111.2
202212.2
202313.4
202412.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

58.3%

21 March 2021 · Rushcliffe local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

11.1%

21 March 2021 · Rushcliffe local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

12%

21 March 2021 · Rushcliffe local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.9%

21 March 2021 · Rushcliffe local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£324,000

July 2026 · Rushcliffe local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,047

August 2026 · Rushcliffe local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.