Skip to content
Nottinghamshire Counts — Nottinghamshire, in numbers.Local help →

Ashfield, in numbers

People and living standards: Ashfield

Ashfield local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Ashfield local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 108,896 in 1991 to 130,581 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Ashfield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 108,740 people in 1996; 130,581 people in 2025. 20.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Ashfield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991108,896
1992109,189
1993109,431
1994109,626
1995109,120
1996108,740
1997108,809
1998108,652
1999109,697
2000110,126
2001111,477
2002112,488
2003113,048
2004114,105
2005115,020
2006115,704
2007116,301
2008116,971
2009117,875
2010118,566
2011119,522
2012119,990
2013121,352
2014122,199
2015123,115
2016123,989
2017125,410
2018126,076
2019126,521
2020126,687
2021126,356
2022127,024
2023128,242
2024129,210
2025130,581
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Ashfield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 22,162 people in 1996; 23,761 people in 2025. 7.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Ashfield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,923
199222,112
199322,286
199422,309
199522,200
199622,162
199722,129
199822,049
199922,387
200022,413
200122,488
200222,573
200322,564
200422,534
200522,478
200622,350
200722,352
200822,261
200922,416
201022,538
201122,703
201222,734
201322,889
201422,929
201522,980
201623,032
201723,496
201823,646
201923,658
202023,697
202123,391
202223,455
202323,667
202423,764
202523,761
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Ashfield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 69,469 people in 1996; 80,170 people in 2025. 15.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Ashfield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199170,295
199270,299
199370,246
199470,327
199569,833
199669,469
199769,460
199869,269
199970,029
200070,336
200171,484
200272,302
200372,735
200473,595
200574,443
200675,062
200775,365
200875,580
200975,876
201076,056
201176,338
201276,110
201376,511
201476,726
201577,183
201677,617
201778,070
201878,154
201978,202
202078,239
202177,949
202278,135
202378,966
202479,416
202580,170
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Ashfield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,109 people in 1996; 26,650 people in 2025. 55.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Ashfield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,678
199216,778
199316,899
199416,990
199517,087
199617,109
199717,220
199817,334
199917,281
200017,377
200117,505
200217,613
200317,749
200417,976
200518,099
200618,292
200718,584
200819,130
200919,583
201019,972
201120,481
201221,146
201321,952
201422,544
201522,952
201623,340
201723,844
201824,276
201924,661
202024,751
202125,016
202225,434
202325,609
202426,030
202526,650
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 126,299 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ashfield · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,9681.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,5751.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,0591.6%
White120,14795.1%
Other ethnic group5500.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 119,497 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ashfield · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White116,73397.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,0590.9%
Asian/Asian British1,0990.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4720.4%
Other ethnic group1340.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 111,387 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ashfield · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White110,20298.9%
Mixed4300.4%
Asian/Asian British3590.3%
Black/Black British1770.2%
Chinese/Other2190.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 23.1% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Ashfield council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £7,669 per person in 1997; £19,973 per person in 2024. 160.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Ashfield council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19977,669
19988,009
19998,473
20008,788
20019,149
20029,418
20039,855
200410,395
200510,568
200610,827
200711,541
200811,813
200912,321
201012,226
201112,322
201212,741
201312,989
201413,608
201514,241
201614,440
201714,818
201815,354
201915,862
202016,175
202116,555
202217,366
202318,591
202419,973
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Ashfield council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -27.7% in 1997; -23.1% in 2024. 4.6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Ashfield council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-27.7
1998-26
1999-25.1
2000-26.2
2001-26
2002-25.6
2003-24.4
2004-23.4
2005-24.8
2006-26.1
2007-24.8
2008-25
2009-23.1
2010-24.3
2011-24.4
2012-24.6
2013-25.8
2014-24.7
2015-25.1
2016-25
2017-24.8
2018-24.8
2019-24.7
2020-22.9
2021-24.2
2022-24.4
2023-24
2024-23.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

56.8%

21 March 2021 · Ashfield local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

22.5%

21 March 2021 · Ashfield local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

23.6%

21 March 2021 · Ashfield local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.1%

21 March 2021 · Ashfield local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£190,000

July 2026 · Ashfield local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£795

August 2026 · Ashfield local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.